Plectrodera scalator (Fabricius)

The first time I saw this species I was completely taken aback by the both the size and bold coloration. I was able to encounter quite a few while working in the wetlands of eastern Arkansas. Impressive just sitting there as well as flying.

cborer

This is an unmistakable species marked in black and white coloration. This is a relatively widespread species commonly found in more wet areas where is can be found feeding on poplars, willows, and cottonwoods. There have been cases where this species has become a pest on the trees that its larvae feed on.

When people want to see some of my favorite species in the collection this species tray is always one of the ones I pull out and people are always in awe of them. I was able to collect a few specimens for the collection, all from Arkansas.

28161981_10215638320892129_5821679056818469216_o

Other online sources:

https://bugguide.net/node/view/7956

http://entoweb.okstate.edu/ddd/insects/cottonwoodborer.htm

Leave a comment